• Character size
  • Standard
  • Large
NTT TX Corporation

Changing Client Program Settings/Restricting Operation by Users

Introduction

All users can make setting changes and connect/disconnect the Client program on target PCsClick to show details.

These steps show how to restrict setting changes and operation (connect/disconnect) to users with administrator privileges, as might be preferable on a Windows Server, etc. with multiple users.

Steps

Step 1

As a user with administrator privileges, log into the target PC installed with the Client program.

Step 2

Check the flame icon, located in the task tray at the bottom right of the screen, and the OS of the target PC, then open the folder below.

1. For the or flame icon

  • If the OS is Windows 32 bit, open C:\Program Files\MagicConnect2.0
  • If the OS is Windows 64 bit, open C:\Program Files (x86)\MagicConnect2.0

2. For the or flame icon

  • If the OS is Windows 32 bit, open C:\Program Files\MagicConnect2.0 (2)
  • If the OS is Windows 64 bit, open C:\Program Files (x86)\MagicConnect2.0 (2)

Step 3

Right click on "mccln.cfg" and select "Properties" from the menu.

Step 4

Click "Edit..." on the "Security" tab.

Step 5

Select "Group or usernames" --> "Authenticated Users," and uncheck all boxes other than "Read" and "Read & Execute" under "Permissions for Authenticated Users" --> "Allow.'' Then click "OK."

Step 6

Click "OK"

This completes the steps.
Settings options will be grayed out for all users without administrator privileges and they will be unable to make settings and operation changes.